Trapshooters Forum banner

O/U selection advice

6123 Views 79 Replies 43 Participants Last post by  Helix
I know good isn't cheap and cheap isn't good. With that said, money IS a factor. I'm trying to get my nephew into trap and I'm not going to spend $1k & up on a gun that he "might" use beyond a year or two. If that's all the gun lasts and he's still interested, we'll make a jump up to the $1k+ models. He understands this and has brought to me a few of the O/U he likes. Keep in mind he'll probably shoot 1-2 times a week and about 50-200'ish rounds per week, for now.

What he's found....

ATI Calvary SVE 12ga - $490
Stevens 555 - $600
Charles Daly 214E - $660
Pointer SCT - $671
CZ Upland Ultralight - $673

Since I'm fairly new to the sport as well, I'm not familiar with reliability or functionality of these guns. Any help, experience or knowledge would be much appreciated!
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

· Premium Member
2,328 Posts
This seams like a question asked on a weekly basis..
Check out some of the previous thsimilar threads at the bottom of the page.

If money is a factor consider the resale of it also. If you are lucky you might get 50% of your money back from any of them you listed. Don't limit him to an O/U. A nice uses beretta or 1100 can met that price range and you will get you investment back if ita taken care of.
Note sure how old your nephew is or his size but gun fit is about the most import aspect of getting a new shotgun. A gun with improper fit that just beats you up will cause a young kid to shy away and never be comfortable keeping wood on wood.
Go to the local club, most members will be there to help out possibly even have something that might interest him or you and you can shoot it before you buy.
Buying the gun is the one thing that only needs paid for once, yeah its the most up front but with the right one he will still be shooting it year down the road.

· Premium Member
93 Posts