Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all...my first post. I'm likely not the first to ask this so sorry for redundancy. I have a high school son who would like to start shooting trap. Our small high school has a quality shooting team that shoots trap...singles only. The majority of the team shoots BT-99's...I currently own no trap guns just field guns and then rifles and pistols. I have no experience yet so we are just begining what looks to be an exciting journey.

I am wondering if I should just jump in with a BT-99 and learn as we go etc...or should I consider an O/U just for the flexibility of eventually shooting something other than trap singles only. I am not strapped to buy the least expensivie gun, but I also hate to just spend money when I don't really know what I'm doing yet.

If I were to buy a Bt-99, is it worth buying used...new ones seem to be reasonably priced as well? Also, should I just buy a conventional stock and then use a fitter to add adjustable comb if needed...or go ahead and buy the adjustable comb version up front? Or for that matter look for a Plus model or an older Max model...etc.

Thanks for any advice and shared experiences....

·
Registered
4,997 Posts
Trap gun is best for shooting trap. Gun fit is critical. Aftermarket comb hardware is better than Browning hardware. BT-99s are good guns. Browning O/U trap guns are also good choices.

·
Registered
1,652 Posts
Browning have good re-sale value, an investment in your son is priceless. Oregonner is correct on gun fit, find a good coach who knows how to make the gun fit the shooter. Up front an adjustable comb is great as long as once it is set correctly you leave it alone! Length of pull will change as your son grows.

·
Administrator
8,663 Posts