Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy!

I wanted to introduce myself to the board and solicit advice anyone may have for someone new to the sport. Browsing the various threads it is clear there is a ton of knowledge on the board.

I am new to competitive trap but have a lot of shooting experience. I love bird hunting (dove, ducks, quail, pheasant) and I was in the Army for 15 years. For 12 of the 15 years I was privileged to serve in Special Forces (AKA the Green Berets) and attended several shooting schools. So lots of trigger time but outside of bird hunting my experience has been rifle and pistol shooting.

Thinking back to when you were brand new to the sport, what is the one thing you know now that you wish you knew when you first started? E.g. a technique, best practice, equipment, ammo choice, etc.

·
Sponsors a Reloaders for Youth Program
11,975 Posts
...Thinking back to when you were brand new to the sport, what is the one thing you know now that you wish you knew when you first started?
To keep my eyes on the target and shoot when my gun goes through the target I'm looking at. Always look at the target. You'll see the gun approach it with your peripheral vision and then it all comes together and pow. Did I say to keep your eyes on the target?

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
1st off thank you for your service. Things I learned. Don't take advise from short yardage shooters. Quality Glasses and colors DO make a difference. Buy a gun with an adjustable comb. .Shoot a full choke, and shells do make a difference once you get into mid and long yardage handicap.

·
Premium Member
5,480 Posts
My advice would be, don't buy junk! Shoot a proven shotgun. There are plenty of options available in all price ranges.

·
Registered
456 Posts
Welcome!! My advice would be to get some instructional DVD's Like Leo's or Harlan's or Phil Kiners...
They might answer questions you don't know you have yet...

·
Premium Member