Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I am very new to this sport. I been trap shooting a couple months now. I was using a savage 333T and decided to purchase a remington versa max because of its multi use. I have a question I hope someone can help me with. My biggest concern is my shells ejecting. I see birchwood casey makes a catcher but the reviews werent to good. Remington doesnt make anything for the versa max. Does anyone know of anything that can help? I dont want to be a distraction or an annoyance to the shooter next to me.

·
Registered
21,600 Posts
You could also contact Tron(on this forum) about having a knockdown pin installed. It's bascically a small bead welded inside the back portion of the barrel that when properly done, knocks the hulls straight down instead of launching them across the whole field. It sounds redneck but it is actually a very good modification. There were actually some makes of auto shotguns with this done from the factory. Tron is good at this modification.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Birchwoid Casey has a fine product for that purpose. My son used a Browning Silver Hunter for his trap gun and it worked beautifully for him. He mainly used it cuz he reloads and saves his hulls. Try it can't go wrong no permanent modifications just a double sided tape.

Enjoy shoot em'.......BTW it won't be long if you keep shooting trap that you will be looking for a trap dedicated gun soon so no need for expensive modifications for a gun that you will be replacing soon....this the nature of this sport once your hooked you will be looking for that Bgun Pgun or Kgun...good luck

·
Registered
4,984 Posts
Your Savage is a good trap gun. Keep shooting it for trap. Make sure it fits you and shoots where your are pointing. I have a 333T in my collection, and have shot some good scores with it.

·
Registered
1,032 Posts