Trapshooters Forum banner

New to shotgun reloading

1424 Views 13 Replies 9 Participants Last post by  Raymond Balducci
Ok, just loaded and shot my first batch of birdshot shotshells. They were flawless. Anyone know what I can do with these to make 00Buck and slugs?
AA-HS hulls 12g 2-3/4
Federal 209A
CB1114-12 wads (for Buck)
SW250 wads (for slugs)
700X powder

I don’t have the slugs or the #00 shot yet. I wanna get the right ones. Anyone have any data?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Banned
2,714 Posts
Hodgdon and Alliant have reloading manuals online for free. Between that and the Lyman's 5th you should be good.

Now I don't load buck, but I recall there being very little data for 700x on Hodgdon. I am going to check. Usually, I see buck call for straight walled hulls but I'm not an expert.

If you can, you always want to pick your load first and then get components as opposed to trying to make components you have work. This is especially important for a new reloader. Subbing components outside of published data can be dangerous.

Edit:

I don't see any data for Win AA HS, 700x and buckshot on Hodgdon Reloading.

Attachments

· Read Only
3,349 Posts
I reloaded shot shell for many years and still have my presses, components, wads and shot for several thousand reloads. I will reload again when my health allows me to return to trapshooting. I also deer hunted since 1978 using 30-06. 308 and .35 Remington for which I also reloaded. I also hunted with muzzle loaders.

That being said, I never had any desire to reload for slugs and/or buckshot. Buckshot is not legal for deer in my home state anyway

Commercial slug and buckshot loads are usually at the higher end of velocities which would require careful attention when reloading. Slugs also usually require a roll crimp which entails special equipment and experience.

Why not just buy commercial slugs or buckshot? How many do you plan to shoot?