Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi, I am new to trap shooting. I just got my first firearm a few days ago, it's an 12ga O/U made by CZ. I'm looking for some tips from more experienced shooters, like what chokes to use, ammunition ect. Thanks.

·
Registered
4,997 Posts
Safety first. Learn the range rules, and then learn the trap ettiquette. Next work on gun fit and technique. Research stuff on Youtube. Look for the professional videos, not the backyard bubba videos. Once you have gotten that far, then worry about shells and chokes. Just use shells that are allowable at your range, usually #7 1/2 or #8, and screw in a Modified choke. If you miss a target, it won't be because of the shell or the choke. Welcome to the sport and the forum.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Safety first. Learn the range rules, and then learn the trap ettiquette. Next work on gun fit and technique. Research stuff on Youtube. Look for the professional videos, not the backyard bubba videos. Once you have gotten that far, then worry about shells and chokes. Just use shells that are allowable at your range, usually #7 1/2 or #8, and screw in a Modified choke. If you miss a target, it won't be because of the shell or the choke. Welcome to the sport and the forum.
Will do, thanks a lot.

·
Registered
2,684 Posts
I suggest you shoot 1 1/8 oz of #8 shot at 1145 f/s to start with.