Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a college student looking for information on the Model 1000 (waterfowler, trap and super) for a research paper I am writing. I am looking for any information or people I can contact regarding the Model 1000. I am looking for information on how many were sold in the 80's, how many were produced, what the resale value is currently, issues with the model 1000, thoughts on the gun etc... Any information would be much appreciated as well as resources/people to contact and look into. Thank you very much any help would be much appreciated .

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
The gun was made in Japan for S&W by a company called Howa. I only have experience with one and it was a Super model I cleaned up and sold for a widow friend. There is a rubber washer/buffer that turns to a gooey mess when exposed to solvents In some ways it was ahead of its time. Hand checkered with palm swells on both sides of the grip. There is a disconnect mode in the trigger plate that prevents the hammer from falling when the trigger assembly is out of the gun preventing the mouse trap action that can occur with the 1100 and 870 triggers. This was a skeet gun and I believe the barrel had the old Tula type muzzle with slot type porting. We found a 30" VR full choke barrel for it as it was to be used as an entry level trapgun. I felt it was ahead of its time but its hard to beat the Remingtons of that time. We sold it for $350 and the extra barrel cost $85.00..

·
Registered
3,573 Posts
Part of going to college is learning how to do research. I googled s&w model 1000 shotgun, and got 59,000 hits. Dig in and get started.
Mark (retired teacher)
Seriously! I wish I had it this easy when I was in college! No wonder millennials can't find jobs! They have degrees, but haven't learned anything!

·
Banned
5,302 Posts