Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been shooting trap for 10 months, and this is a summary of this trip thus far.

1. I have shot about 10,200 rounds
  2. Bought three shotguns
    1. Fabarms O/U (HK) sporting
    2. Ljutic (used but a trap gun)
    3. B725 Trap Golden Clays (new and it shoots great)
  3. Scores:
    1. With the Fabarms I could not be consistent, but I did shoot a 50 straight
    2. Ljutic shot great and shot a 99/100
    3. B725 have shot very well, higher score is 98/100 – but I am very consistent 24-25
    4. Registered matches - 81,82,86,94 (25 straight)
    5. Overall I have 15 (25s) and 2 (50s) - shot at my local club not registered
What I have learned:
  1. Shoot a trap gun
  2. Make sure the gun fits
  3. Must have solid fundamentals (gun mount, foot position, hold point, etc)
  4. LOOK AT THE BIRD
  5. Pattern your shotgun, you must know where it is shooting
  6. Don’t think about scores, think about shot execution. One bird at a time
  7. Find out what works for you! We are all different. Don’t be afraid to experiment with things like hold point, shooting fast, shooting slower, etc.
  8. Develop a pre-shot routine. Do it, if it does not feel right dismount the gun and do it again
I am having a lot of fun and I am hooked.

-jP

·
Registered
906 Posts
Puigs (May I call you Puigs?:)), it looks like you are figuring this thing out quickly. That’s excellent progress in 10 months. In another thread you mentioned coming to the Silver Dollar for the Southern Zone Shoot. I hope you make it as you will find it a great place to shoot. If you need assistance with anything just let me know. You can ask someone at the front desk or classification windows to point me out. I will be there all four days.
Denny Kennedy

·
Registered
72 Posts
Congratulations on your first 10 months.
I agree with #7, everybody has their own "sweet spot", it's just a matter of finding it.

·
Registered