Trapshooters Forum banner

Money Shoots, Meat Shoots, or Annie Oaklies, do you shoot them?

9584 86
I love shooting money shoots. We usually start out at 40 yards behind the trap house, and it is a hoot to shoot from there and hit the targets. The average distance when you hit the bird is 60-85 yards away. I know that my personal shooting has improved since I started shooting these events.

It seems as though a lot of people have no idea what you are talking about when you mention this part of the sport to them?. They are missing out on a lot of fun and friendships with their fellow shooters. There seems to be more laughter and cheering when you shoot these type events. I know some straight trap shooters baulk at the mention of money shooting. They say you are hammering your gun etc. Some of these guys are sensitive to recoil. I know my loads are usually around 1250 fps, with a 9-10,000 cup pressure. No problem for modern firearms.

So the question is, how many of you guys shoot these type events. I shoot an average of two a week. Headed to one this afternoon. Week day shoots are smaller only seven rounds. Week end shoots are larger, usually ten rounds.
1 - 20 of 87 Posts

· Registered
3,481 Posts
I shot games in the Winter, when I took a break from ATA and PITA.
At our small club, we have a game trap and practice trap. Every Wednesday they are both full.

Is the forty yard trap at Evergreen?

· Premium Member
723 Posts
I’ve been intrigued by the games shoots as well, but none close by me that I’ve found. I have heard of some down closer to your neighborhood, Fishjager. I’ll look into them. Any advise on appropriate loads?

· Registered
697 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I shot games in the Winter, when I took a break from ATA and PITA.
At our small club, we have a game trap and practice trap. Every Wednesday they are both full.

Is the forty yard trap at Evergreen?