Trapshooters Forum banner

Mec grabber drops double load of powder

2432 Views 20 Replies 20 Participants Last post by  Song Dog
I have been reloading for 55 years on 12 ga grabber shot my 1100 yesterday paper federal 17 gr 700x AA wad crimp looked good, so i reloaded a shell with a double load to see what the crimp would look like it was terrible pellets sticking out of the crimp but evidently i did have a double load upon the firing the gun the shell carrier was push down and bent beyond repair how do we get a double load of powder and a regular drop of shot.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Premium Member
2,300 Posts
Lumps in your powder that got hung up in drop tube?
Need to be very watch full and watch and listen gor every step of the process, with have decent hearing you can hear the powder drop if you dont have a bunch of background noise

· Registered
13,510 Posts
I like to roll my powder once in each direction before I reload. One roll, and one end over end. Don't overdue it. You don't want to create static cling!!! I never leave powder in the bottles. I always return unused powder back to the keg after I finish reloading. Keep both your drop tubes clean with pipe cleaners. Pack the pipe cleaners together into the drop tube. Then run back and forth to keep the inside of the tubes clean of build up. Works for me, and can work for you. I clean the tubes once a year or so. Only take a few seconds for each one, and will reduce your chances of getting any bridged shot or powder. Good Luck on your gun repair. Hope you can fix it. break em all jeff

· Read Only
3,349 Posts