Trapshooters Forum banner

Mec 9000 issue, cuz I’m a noob

1932 16
Very new to reloading I am a duck hunter, not a trap guy. I reload because they don’t make 4 steel/9TSS, which is what I load. My setup is a used but seemingly nice Mec 9000, pre-primered hulls, 1/4 oz TSS on the bottom of 3/4 oz #3 or 4. I think I have everything (almost) dialed but the issue is that about every 4-5th shell, I get only about half of the steel, and then, on the next shell, 150% of a load, which results in slippery floors and swear words. I am very conscious to get the handle all the way down, and release it to the top. I don’t feel any extra resistance when this happens either, so I don’t think it’s a crimp height not allowing a full pull, but I really don’t know.
Also, what is an acceptable variance from shell to shell? Components should add up to 1.48(ish) oz. 90% of my shells are 1.45-1.5. One out of 25 is 1.52-1.54. Every once in a while, I’ll get a shell or two that is something like 1.35. I’m thinking that most of this is related to the above stated problem, but not sure. When all goes well, almost no rattle and really fantastic looking shells. When it doesn’t, the crimp is always dished so bad the shot can just pour out the top. Would love someone with some experience to share their... well... experience!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Premium Member
30,370 Posts