Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a used 8567 grabber. It's a 2009 model I think. I've made some nice looking reloads using 1oz 8 shot and gun club hulls. Hodgdon data.

I've seen YouTube videos of folks placing a hull in station 1 and pulling the handle without powder dropping on an empty station 2 or shot dropping on station 3.

In my very limited experience powder and shot drop regardless if there is a hull in either station. None of the videos I watched had their press set up forvsingkevstage type reloading. They just went for it bottles up.

My solution is to put hulls with spent primers in station 2 and 3, dump the powder/shot until proper components for reloading make it to those stages.

Is there a way to make this press start with 1 hull or is this normal operating procedure?

Go easy on me as I'm limited by what I dont know. I'm new to shotshell reloading. Metalic I have experience in. The manual makes it seem as I should start with a hull on position 1 without worrying about making a mess with powder and shot going everywhere. Not the case in my situation as of now. Thanks.

·
Registered
32,618 Posts
I recently bought a used 8567 grabber. It's a 2009 model I think. I've made some nice looking reloads using 1oz 8 shot and gun club hulls. Hodgdon data.

I've seen YouTube videos of folks placing a hull in station 1 and pulling the handle without powder dropping on an empty station 2 or shot dropping on station 3.

In my very limited experience powder and shot drop regardless if there is a hull in either station. None of the videos I watched had their press set up forvsingkevstage type reloading. They just went for it bottles up.

My solution is to put hulls with spent primers in station 2 and 3, dump the powder/shot until proper components for reloading make it to those stages.

Is there a way to make this press start with 1 hull or is this normal operating procedure?