My guess would be that he entered as Junior category.
I hope I write this correctly....
If you declare a category (Junior, Lady, Veteran, etc.), and are NOT the event winner, you are then considered in your category first. Since he WAS event winner, he couldn't also be category winner. And if you are in a category, you can't win class unless you don't win anything in your category.
These rules apply in that case.
“Only one (1) trophy shall be awarded to any one (1) person in any separate event. This means a contestant may not win both special category trophy and champion, runner-up/place, class, or yardage trophy in the same event.”
“Any shooter who is tied for event Champion may shoot-off/carry-over for the Championship trophy. If a shooter fails in the championship trophy shoot-off/carry-over and has declared a special category at the time of classification, the shooter will fall back to the declared special category.”
“Any shooter who has declared a special category at the time of classification and whose score qualifies for any trophy in his/her declared category, will compete for the category trophy and not for place, class or yardage group.”
“Any special category shooter whose score does not qualify for a trophy in his/her category, may compete for place, class or yardage group trophies.”