Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wanting to find out if there is a difference in load data between Remington 1 ounch wads, TGT12S and R12L. I have searched the reloading websights and they list the TGT12S but not the R12L. Well, the R12L is what I have. I am new to reloading and want to load some 1 ounch loads for trap.

I understand that everyone has their opinions on what components to use. And I respect that. But, I just want to know if there is a differnce in reloading data between the 2 wads.

Thanks,

Allen

·
Premium Member
11,719 Posts
Call the powder manufacturer and ask them.

·
Registered
3,621 Posts
The TGT12S is a fig 8 style---R12L is RXP (power piston) style, both are 1oz size. As per timb99 the "SAFEST and best thing to do is call the powder mfg. In looking through some older data there doesn't appear to be much difference in recipes. Stay with published data and powder mfg recommendation.

Also those R12L wads may be getting some age on them, check to be sure they are not brittle and hard. Ross Puls

·
Registered
4,992 Posts
You don't say what powder you have. I found an older recipe using 18 grains of RedDot, which should give you about 1200 fps with one ounce of shot. Mark

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the responses so far.

I will try calling the powder manufacturer.

The wads are brand new, bought them at Bass Pro yesterday.

I'm starting out with Hodgdon's Internation powder.

Just putting a recipe together with what was available at the store that matched up with the data I had, that being what was on the Hodgdon's websight and my reloading book.

Probably not the best recipe out there, but just starting out. In the trial and error faze.

Thanks,

Allen

·
Registered
3,621 Posts