Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last month I got a Browning Citori 725 Trap Combo. It came with 2 Full chokes, 1 Light Full, 1 Improved Modified, and 1 Modified. Last year I switched to a Full choke from an Improved Modified, and I haven’t looked back. I’ve never owned a Light Full choke. Does anyone here use one? What advantages, if any, would it have over a Full choke?

·
Premium Member
390 Posts
I have a 725 combo also, my Briley LF (.030 according to Briley) pretty much lives in the unsingle. I shoot singles and handicap is 25. Just change loads.
Can't say there's an advantage but shooting the best scores ever since I started shooting trap several years ago. Most likely the gun fit but I'm not changing.

·
Registered
940 Posts
Shoot a few rounds with the IM and a few with your Full. Study the breaks. Then ask yourself - do you really need something in-between the 2 ? If you do, put it in your gun and shoot it. Do you like it ? No one can tell how the choke is gonna perform in your gun - but you. So go figure it out for yourself.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Here's some info I posted on shotgun world a while back that has some of my pattern numbers to give you and idea of the performance you might get from some trap chokes and loads.

Shotgunworld.com • Gun Club vs STS vs Nitro

Go to the last page to see all of my load and choke pattern numbers from additional Winchester loads, too.

Hope this helps, good luck!

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Last month I got a Browning Citori 725 Trap Combo. It came with 2 Full chokes, 1 Light Full, 1 Improved Modified, and 1 Modified. Last year I switched to a Full choke from an Improved Modified, and I haven’t looked back. I’ve never owned a Light Full choke. Does anyone here use one? What advantages, if any, would it have over a Full choke?