Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to target shooting and am seriously considering starting to re-load. I have run several calculators and realize that it won't be that cost effective, and while I accept that fact it is still frustrating.

I want to re-load because I believe I will enjoy the process and the pride that comes with making my own shells. Saving money won't be my top priority - learning the ins and outs of reloading will be.

I will probably shoot between 200-400 shells a month when the weather warms up and am trying to determine what loading press I should buy. While I've read that the MEC is a better machine - and much much faster, I'm just not sure if it makes sense for someone like me to shell out four times the money to get a MEC considering the volume of shells I'll be re-loading.

I would greatly appreciate any thoughts, comments, and advice.

Thanks - Chase

·
Registered
595 Posts
I was recently in your same situation , and trust me the mec is the way to go. I absolutely love my mec 600jr.

·
Registered
791 Posts
I've owned a used both.
While the Load-all will load a good looking shell, the MEC is made to last and is worth the difference.
My Lee broke after a couple of years loading less than a 1000 hunting loads.
My MEC was in great shape when I sold it after thousands of loads.
Get the MEC and don't look back.
Look for a used one in the for sale section. Could find a deal not much more than the Lee.
Be careful though, it can become an addiction.
George

·
Premium Member
6,088 Posts
I didn't notice you post count. If no one else has done so, welcome to TS.com.

And a quick review of an eBay search for "MEC 600" shows many, many of them, likely in varying condition.

·
Registered
124 Posts