Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I'm a noob on things Kolar. A friend purchased a Kolar trap combo, he doesn't shoot Trap doubles, the fixed rib O/U barrels pattern about 90/10 at 23 yards. He is wanting to use the O/U barrels for sporting clays/skeet and would like 50/50 or 60/40 poi out of both barrels, The barrels are equipped with a #2 barrel hanger. Question: what would be a more appropriate hanger and would this also require changing the spacer between he barrels also.

· Registered
63 Posts
First off I'm a noob on things Kolar. A friend purchased a Kolar trap combo, he doesn't shoot Trap doubles, the fixed rib O/U barrels pattern about 90/10 at 23 yards. He is wanting to use the O/U barrels for sporting clays/skeet and would like 50/50 or 60/40 poi out of both barrels, The barrels are equipped with a #2 barrel hanger. Question: what would be a more appropriate hanger and would this also require changing the spacer between he barrels also.
The front barrel hanger primarily influences the POI of the bottom barrel. The smaller the number on the hanger the higher the lower barrel will shoot. With a number 2, you have a fairly high shooter. Kolar makes numerous hangers to lower you POI. Perhaps a number 4 or 5 will do the trick. The problem is the top barrel. Although the center spacer can influence the top barrel POI, the adjustments are severely limited.
My guess is that you will not get the top barrel to get to a flat pattern (50/50) without replacing the top rib. Of course Kolar will have the answer. I have owned 5 Kolars, fixed ribs, adjustable ribs in both 740 and 750 bores. I flirted with the exact opposite situation. That is, trying to get both barrels to shoot higher. Which by the way, is much easier than your situation. Good luck.

· Registered
63 Posts