Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,577 Posts
Ha! And you guys say skeet is easy! Doubt you'll be seeing a 14 round shootoff anytime soon in skeet, might have happened once between Bender and Mayes, but those days are long gone!

Congrats to both the shooters, pretty amazing!

·
Registered
310 Posts
Cool pic! I'm new to trap so forgive me. So, in a shoot off the participants keep shooting round after round till one finally finishes with the higher score? Are there certain nuances like one shooter has to start on a certain post or follow a particular order? Just curious. I wish them both the best of luck tomorrow, pretty impressive they can shoot that many in a row!

Reactions: P-Mx10

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
Ha! And you guys say skeet is easy! Doubt you'll be seeing a 14 round shootoff anytime soon in skeet, might have happened once between Bender and Mayes, but those days are long gone!

Congrats to both the shooters, pretty amazing!
I think it was Wayne and Phil Murray that set the record for the longest shootoff. I think it was 17 rounds of skeet. This was when they shot regular rounds, not shootoff doubles. Of course the powers-to-be realized they had to do something because it wasn't going to be practical to keep doing that.
I've seen shootoffs go 8 boxes of doubles. Of course it was Wayne and Bobby Uknalis. Man, was it fun to watch those two shoot! They both made it look so easy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5,691 Posts
I'm sorry. This is an example of the lunacy that hurts our sport. Skeet recognized the problem going to first one round of regular skeet than doubles; to just doubles; to doubles at stations 3,4, and 5. We've done nothing to expedite shoot-offs, so most of the time in smaller shoots a coin flip decides the 16 yard winner. When are we going to wake up?

·
Registered
371 Posts
Discussion Starter #11 (Edited)