Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is going on with Federal Shells lately. I have been re-loading Federal Gold Medal plastics for 25 years, and never had a problem. they were my go to hull for handicap, because of low recoil. I only re-load hulls in good condition, and or once fired hulls. The last few weeks, the plastic tube blows off of the brass. The brass gets jammed behind the ejector, and I have to get it out with a rod. The plastic tube "has been" blowing out the barrel on those. Yesterday I had 2 out of 14 shots that did that, but the plastic tube seized up at the forcing cone in the barrel. It took 25 minutes to get it out by jamming a wad down the muzzle end of the barrel to catch the end of the hull, and push it out with a rod. It took about 4 times with a new wad each time to get the stuck plastic hull out. Thinking it was an anomaly, I went out to finish the round, and had the same problem 14 shots later. I pulled off the squad, and not being able to get the stuck plastic part of the hull out of the barrel, I had to wrap it up and go home.

The only thing different is that having had some hollow sounding shells with 22 grains of green dot with a Fiochi primer & claybuster S-3 wads. I have switched to 20 grains of Red Dot for winter shooting, with CCI mag primers. I also tried using the Down Range S-3. They feel softer than the Green Dot loads and are fast on handicaps. Loading data shows the chamber pressures close to the same.

Is Federal just making crap shells now??

Nick

·
Registered
923 Posts
If they are the smooth Gold Medals, yes there was a problem. They stopped making them for a reason. Ribbed ones seem to work just fine. IMHO Ron

·
Registered
1,070 Posts
We had some of this going on in my area a couple of years ago, and it seems it always occurred