Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it worth going to a competition if I only average between 70-80 out of 100? I have only shot trap 3 times, once last winter and then the last two weekends. Total I've shot 300 rounds, 125 with an Remington 870 Magnum and 175 with a Stoeger Longfowler. I plan to go much more often now that I have my own gun (Stoeger) and have the ability to go. My local club Hog Heaven is having their Fall Festival in September and I'd like to participate in it, but wasn't sure if it'd be worth it to try.

·
Registered
4,985 Posts
It depends on your finances and your competitive nature. Shooting in competition is expensive. Another idea might be to keep shooting for fun for a while, and volunteer to help at the Fall shoot.

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I am competitive, but am fully aware that I am new to the sport and won't be the best right out of the gate.

I haven't decided whether I will compete at the Fall Festival or not, but I do atleast plan to volunteer so I can get more experience and can be in the environment of a competitive shoot. I have just as much fun sometimes just watching others shoot. I am fortunate to have a very well versed group of men at my church who shoot twice a week, and are invested in building the sport and helping others.

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I know I can't afford to travel to "out of town" shoots, but Hog Heaven is only about 20 mins from my house so those shoots will be the ones that I try to attend.

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
It depends on your finances and your competitive nature. Shooting in competition is expensive. Another idea might be to keep shooting for fun for a while, and volunteer to help at the Fall shoot.