Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Fellow Reloaders and Shooters,
I have been reloading both Metallic and Shot Shell for over 40 years and have never seen this.
I was given 4 Reloads to tear down and verify correct powder and shot weights by a shooting friend of mine.

The Load is on the Alliant website and is as follows:
Federal Gold Medal Hull
Fed 209A Primer
24.0 Green Dot
1 1/8 oz Shot
Windjammer WAD
1310 fps at 8800 psi

Upon visual inspection of the hulls, I noticed buckling in the cases, and suspected something was wrong.

All 4 cases were Gold Medal Hulls and had the same bulging. I know he refuses to use a scale and just goes by the Bushing Charts.

Primers were Cheddite, not Fed 209A primers per the recipe.
All powder was Green Dot
All wads were Windjammers

All shell components were weighed on a Hornady Digital scale with proper calibration.

Hull #1
25.2 gr Green Dot
501 gr shot

Hull #2
23.9 gr Green Dot
498 gr shot

Hull #3
23.5 gr Green Dot after I took the live primer out of the powder !! Yes a live Cheddite Primer in the Powder!!
504 gr Shot

Hull#4
24.2 gr Green Dot
494 gr Shot

I almost fell off my loading stool when that primer fell out with the powder!!
I have never seen this in my 40+ years of reloading

I have no clue how this could happen, but am very concerned on what may have happened if this shell was fired.

He has a nickname around the Club as "Misfire @@@@" and now I am pretty sure why.

I had a witness standing there when I was cutting the hulls apart and weighing the components, he about s**t his pants too!!

The loads were all over the place in weight, and the Live Primer really spooks me.

I wonder what may have happened if this shell was fired ?
Would the primer Detonate upon powder ignition ?
Fly down the Barrel and cause internal damage ?

Any thoughts or experiences from fellow reloaders would be greatly appreciated in regards to this.