Trapshooters Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1,172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Saturday I was shooting practice from the 16 and shot a 98 so I was feeling pretty good about myself and ask the other guys to shoot a round from the 27. I shot a 17 from back there, That brought me back to earth!!!

·
Registered
1,172 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't really understand why it is so much harder? I know the targets are farther away but I just could not figure out where to hold, How much lead and so on.

·
Registered
4,957 Posts
Anyone who can shoot good scores from the 27 yard line is king trap shooter in my book. Pro or no pro it's tuff back there.

·
Registered
463 Posts
I am still fairly new to this, but managed to break a couple 25's and numerous 23's-24's before venturing back to the dark side of the 27. After about 7-8 wtf's in a row, i finally got it dialed in and broke a few. I think the 22 yard line and beyond should be named "Humility Rows".

There is so much more to this that i ever imagined, but it sure is fun.

·
Registered
2,002 Posts
If you shot from the 27 yd line for 20+ years,like many of our top amateurs,do you think you would have a pretty good idea as far as hold & lead ? I think I could improve. Clyde Doll

·
Registered
3,243 Posts
One of the problems with shooting from the 27 is not shooting enough at that distance. Most of our ego's never let us do what we really can. We shoot a couple of bad scores and run back up to the 16 just to prove to ourselves we can still break a target. Me included.

But, if you shoot four hundred 27 targets during the week and shoot 200 on the weekend in registered events. Do this for about 3 months. The scores will come up, but if you don't keep at it the scores go down a lot faster.

Ajax

·
Registered
227 Posts
I'm new, but explain why the leads from post 5 are greater than from post 1. Geometry would seem to dictate they should be the same, no?

Steve Schwab

·