Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
503 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have any info on re-pointing checkering on a gun stock ?

Like what kind of tool will I need and where I can buy it? along with any tips

for this job.

Thanks for your response.

Hal

·
Registered
534 Posts
Frankly, it's not a job for the amateur to try, especially on a hi grade stock. Checkering is an art, and it takes a lot of practice to learn how. I've been building and checkering stocks for over 30 years now, and trust me, let a professional do the job for you if it's a valued gun. I would be happy to give you a quote on the work if you like. Just send a pm. If you just have a kick around gun and want to try it yourself, Brownell's sells a starter set of hand tools made by DemBart. You'll need a single line cutter, a reverse cutter, and good lighting. I also use a magnafying head set. Just remember, you must keep the cutter perfectly in the old groove of the checkering. As soon as you slip or cut across the head of a diamond, you're in deep trouble. Correcting a errant cut is very difficult to cover up and will stand out like a red headed step child if not fixed correctly. The reverse cutter is used to pull backwards from the border line to keep from running over.

Steve Fischer,
Fischer gunsmithing

·
Registered
7,287 Posts
Steve speaketh the truth.....I've got the tools but wouldn't even think of putting them on the checkering on my ST-100 (which needs a repoint).

Ron Burr

·
Registered
503 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Steve,

Thanks for the comments and advise.

I would never try and learn on a "good" stock and I am aware that checkering is

an art. Just thought it might be something to work on.

I have several old stocks and forearms that the checkering has wore out, thought

I maybe practice on them.

Might come up with a new hobby?

Thanks

Hal

·
Registered
3,420 Posts