Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 123 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just realized I have been loading for 58 years. I started when I was 12 with my dad. My uncle worked at a shot tower and we got shot really cheep. 700x, red dot was the available powder and plastic was just being incorporated as the new sensation. Sears sport load paper shells were $1.85 a box.
I can say I still shoot and load about 15000 rounds and just enjoy loading, its my man cave, safe place.
The journey has been memorable and nothing like the enjoyment of pulling the handle and then pulling the trigger at the home range.

·
Banned
3,989 Posts
I started when I was 7 with a MEC 600 JR that was a Christmas present. 58 years as well. Oh and I still have and use that reloader occasionally.

·
Registered
334 Posts
Started metallic in '62 and shotshells in '66. Still have the Lee Loader and the Herters Model 72 M. It is all cast iron with an adjustable powder and shot dispenser. You moved the shell from station to station, really speeded up production from the Lee.

·
Registered
1,790 Posts
Not sure of the exact date but I will say it has been 50 plus years here too ! Started out on a Texan loader and was taught by the members of our local Sportsmans club.

·
Premium Member
442 Posts
Late comer to the addiction. Started in 1992, and I'm 72 years old now. Load for 410, 20, 12 ga. now on a PW 800+ and a PW 375, plus have 2 Dillon 550's, a Dillon 650, a Forestor Co-Ax and RCBS Rock Chucker. So only 30 years.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Started when I was 12 and I'm now 73 years old. It has been a real experience I can tell you. I have enjoyed it: even with some major screw-up’s. And I'm still alive!

Ken

·
Registered
30 Posts