Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As some of you have probably seen in my other thread, I am new to shotgun sports and currently in the market for a quality O/U. In my search I am looking at used guns as an option. My question is how many rounds can be expected to go through a gun? What is a low round count? A high count? I'm sure this has been discussed in the past, so I apologize if I am bringing up old discussion. As always, thanks for your input.

·
Registered
21,600 Posts
Well it isn't unusual for a shooter to shoot 700-1000 rounds during a small to medium size registered shoot over several days. There are guys that shoot that several times a month with 100's of practice rounds between those registered events. It's really up to you and your financial situation as to how much you'll shoot. I'd say an average shooter can easily put 10,000-25,000 rounds through their trap gun per year. That is maybe on the conservative side.
The Grand American(our sports World Championships) which is open to all ATA members is 10 days straight of trap shooting. Many shooters shoot every day of that Championship.

·
Registered
1,927 Posts
I can tell you for a fact that I put almost 140,000 REGISTERED rounds through a Browning XT Trap. I had springs replaced in it at the Grand a few years ago and the bill was $54.
I suspect there was near 200,000 actual count.

·
Banned
5,302 Posts
On an O/U there are three things that wear out. The locking block, the firing pins and the springs. You will want to ask when those were replaced. Other than making sure the barrels aren't pitted you are good to go. To rebuild an O/U with the above parts, may run $300-$500 depending on what is needed.

·
Premium Member
4,387 Posts
I have well over 150,000 rounds through my grade six Browning O/U since `95 or `96 . All dbls and a few 16`s . 1 annual service a couple years ago at the Grand .

·
Registered
8,994 Posts