Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to all this I know guns and I've hunted my whole life but just recently just started shooting trap and im currently shooting in a 5 stand league. I somewhat understand the handicap deal but every explanation I get is different and confuses me to no end. Can anyone dumb it down to where I can understand it?

·
Premium Member
Perazzi MX2000 31.5/34 combo with a prosoft
1,413 Posts
Could you give some context? Handicap will vary depending on league, derby, registered, etc.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So the 5 stand league I'm in basically all I was told was to shoot worse at the beginning so you could play your handicap and still have a chance against the better shooters there. To which I said that wouldn't be a problem bc I don't shoot as good as them anyway. Lol

·
Registered
24,662 Posts
So the 5 stand league I'm in basically all I was told was to shoot worse at the beginning so you could play your handicap and still have a chance against the better shooters there. To which I said that wouldn't be a problem bc I don't shoot as good as them anyway. Lol
Don’t walk. Run. Away from whatever fool gave you that advice. Start hanging out with the better shooters. ALWAYS shoot to win.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I mean I'm not doing horrible I don't guess first week I broke 14 second I broke 15 and I shot 16 in a practice round. I'm not purposefully shooting bad I'm shooting what I can. I wasn't meaning they said to shoot worse just that I would have a better chance of winning by having a lower score in the beginning because somehow the handicap is supposed to help me keep pace with the better shooters.

·
Registered
2,733 Posts
Glad to read that you are not purposefully shooting bad. That would be sandbagging/cheating.

ATA handicap rules can be found on line on the ATA site. 2021_Rulebook_web.pdf (shootata.com)