Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1964 Wingmasters in 12 & 16g, Stevens 20g, Long Tom 12, Stevens 20g SxS
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been reading a lot on here lately & decided to join in hopes of getting some help with my loads. I’ve been reloading brass Ammo for years & have 10,000ish rounds under my belt but I’m new to shot shells. I bought a Texan progressive, got her dialed in & have completed my first batch. The load in question is 2 3/4 AA, win 209, 15.5gr of titewad, claybuster cb-0175 3/4oz wad & #8 lead. My questions are; how this shoulder look? Im thinking it’s a little low also it’s hard to see but the crimp is very slightly concaved. It’s not perpendicular to the hull nor is it conveyed. In order to get the shoulder/crimp like this I had to increase the weight from .75 to roughly .8 - .83oz & the crimp still isn’t putting any substantial pressure on the shot. The shot rattles a little bit. I have since bought some 6 & 7 shot & will be experimenting with them when more wads arrive. I’m under the assumption they will take up more room on top of the wad for the same weight since they’re larger which will raise the shoulder & put more pressure on the load also increasing chamber pressure. Any tips, tricks or input is appreciated. Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Copy. I will lower the starter but I have the final die lowered to where it’s just kissing the shell holder. How would I get more taper out of it? I do have another die on the other Texan I bought that is spring loaded, maybe that one will give the end more taper. Thanks

·
Premium Member
8,436 Posts
You really do not need anymore pre crimp.
Your crimp is already to deep.
The issue that you have, is stack height.