Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is 2 shots of #8 1ounve loads at 40 yards. To me it looks like 90 percent high,but this is my first time actually patterning a shotgun. Help me decipher what I have going on. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
5,378 Posts
Is the larger metal ring 30 inches? Is the center of the small circle your poa? I wonder how many pellet holes you have on the outside of your picture (left, right and above) ? I don't see how you can get much info from that picture alone. What choke were you using?

If you just want to find your point of Impact (POI) I suggest you use the method described below.

Attachments

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yes the ring is 30" wide and the center ring is where I was aiming. I was using my KX6S with the super full choke. I too am having a hard time telling what the heck is going on. I have never really patterned a gun before. I just make adjustments till I start hitting the target. I have no way to tell how many pellets missed high, left, or right.

·
Premium Member
5,378 Posts
She is shooting high which a lot of people prefer (but everyone is different). I would say it is closer to 100% ish. Read the point of impact pdf I attached in my first post and you will be more informed.

·
Ya can't miss with a shotgun
2,560 Posts
Next time....place your point of aim at the bottom center point of your 30” circle..... at the bottom edge of the line. The center of your circle is 15” above that point. Shoot at 13 yards so you can easily see the point of impact. Multiply the impact point in inches above your aim point, multiply it by 3, and that’s your “inches high” at 40 yards.

Example: 5” high at 13 yards = 15” high at 40 yards = “100 %” high pattern

The target is rising. You want to deliver the center of your pattern to where the target is going.

Reactions: BT-99

·
Registered
36 Posts