Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just an old man wanted to finally get into skeet/trap shooting. Been wanting to try it for years but have not gotten around to it. I have an old cheap 0/u 12 gauge that I am going to try and shoot my first round of skeet/trap next week. Been shooting pistols/rifles since I was a very young boy, but never even seen a round of trap or skeet shot. I have been reloading pistols and rifles for over 35 years but new to shotgun reloading. I am very interested in learning both sides of the sport and hopefully have fun and not worry about scores. I just want the fun side of the games, and I just started reloading 12 gauge shotgun only to shoot reduced loads. I also just bought a Mec 600 Jr in 410 to try my luck at sub gauge shooting. Only have a single shot 410 but looking at buying a budget O/U for the 410. I know its crazy to think about 410 with no experience but I want to enjoy the sport with beating up my old shoulder. I have enough back problems and arthritis already so do not need more pain while having fun. Wanting to learn from the folks who know the secrets of learning the new shotgun sports. Looking at Yildiz 410 at Academy and Tristar 410's right now both 0/u and maybe a Mossberg 500 410 but not crazy about the full choke on
Thanks
blr

·
Registered
2,004 Posts
Trap, Skeet, Sporting Clays and 5-Stand. Try it all have fun with it. There are ways to shoot a 12 ga. without beating up your shoulder. Shells, recoil device, good gun fit will put you in there with a 12 ga.

·
Registered
76 Posts