Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
2,705 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright boys, I need recommendations for a good heavy duty 1/2 inch corded drill. I need it for general purpose including mixing, driving hundreds of screws for rebuilding my deck, etc. Please do not bother with a cordless rec! Thanks, Tom Rhoads

·
Banned
7,659 Posts
I was an electrical contractor, my residential teams, used Makita drills, the reserving switch built into the trigger was great when rough in houses. Never had one fail. The men would change the brushes on a regular basis.

Phil Berkowitz

·
Registered
1,766 Posts
I bought a Makita 1/2 hammer drill cased @ Home Depot this past Summer for $99.00 the corded stuff is getting cheap, take a look around buy a demo unit if you can?

Jim

·
Registered
16,612 Posts
I have a Porter-Cable 1/2 inch angle drill and with the gearbox on low you could turn your house around. The angle drive can be reversed to change RPM.

I have a more compact Milwaukee with a detachable cord (I like that) and it's quite strong and easy to carry around. I need them both.

You have to decide first if you want a D-Handle or a compact model. Lots of deck work, a compact. More heavy stuff, a D handle.

HM

·
Registered
8,217 Posts
Milwaukee for three reasons:

1. Very dependable with plenty of torque.

2. After years of service it can be rebuilt to original condition.

3. Re-sale value is excellent..

Tom......I just re built my deck with composite decking. If that is what you are going to use keep some extra saw blades around. I noticed that composite will dull a blade faster than wood.

·
Banned
7,659 Posts
Use the drill till the project is done --return to Lowes/Home Depot--say it sux--they'll take it back no ? Cheapest tool rental out there !!!!

Phil Berkowitz

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
Phil,

On one thread you are worried about a baby falling out of a golf cart,

then you are telling people you are willing to steal from Lowes/Home Depot.