Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
An experienced gun down clays shooters but a premounted gun trap newbie here. I have noticed that if I fail to initally get a smooth, solid gun mount and have to make adjustments before calling for the target, a miss is almost a given. Any thoughts about practicing gun mounting at home?

·
Registered
105 Posts
I'd say if you have to make an adjustment when you mount the gun, then the gun might not fit you properly.

Gun mount should be easily repeatable where it does not distrupt your focus for where you look for the target. If you are manipulating the gun to "get it right", your focus and attention are now drawn to the gun and not to the target where it should be.

After you are confident in gun fit, then work on mounting the gun at home, at the range, and during your practice sessions.

Good luck!

Good luck and break them all!

John

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
I'd say if you have to make an adjustment when you mount the gun, then the gun might not fit you properly.

Gun mount should be easily repeatable where it does not distrupt your focus for where you look for the target. If you are manipulating the gun to "get it right", your focus and attention are now drawn to the gun and not to the target where it should be.

After you are confident in gun fit, then work on mounting the gun at home, at the range, and during your practice sessions.

Good luck!

Good luck and break them all!

John
Thanks, John