Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Assuming no barrel blockage or damage from previous use...

What is the likelihood of destroying a gun with handloaded ammo loaded under careful conditions using prudent low to medium pressure published loads with no change in components ?

·
Registered
106 Posts
I'm right there with you MikeD. I've been handloading since 1976 and no blow ups. Let me say though I have caught on two occasions loading in high static electric conditions (winter time) that I had Nitro 100 bridge in the drop tube. Yes sir, and the only way I caught it was final crimp was slightly bulged. Checked the shell and confirmed double charge. Checked the shell before it and it was empty!! Point is anything can happen so it doesn't matter how long you've been loading or how safe you are. I think reloading is statistically safe considering the millions of reloads fired every year. JMHO. Jerry

·
Registered
2,744 Posts
I have touched off a couple of double charged (34 grain) 700X loads before figuering out how they happened. My old 1100 took it in stride!

·
Registered
3,060 Posts
The same as with a factory shell, it depends on the state of the guns metallurgy at the time the shell was fired, not the size of the load.

Surfer

·
Registered
764 Posts
I have shot, on two occasions, 33 grains of 700x behind 1 1/8 oz of shot. They bark but I have a very hard time believing that it is enough force to blow a shotgun into a million pieces.

·
Registered
11,024 Posts
In order to blow it into a million pieces you need powder detonation. The sonic wave that accompanies the detonation is what causes the destruction. HMB

·
Registered
764 Posts
I'd like someone to explain how detonation works because I've shot shells with very little powder and shells with a double charge, neither one blew up.... so how does detonation work???

·
Registered
25,277 Posts