Trapshooters Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Banned
1,949 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using Hoppe's #9 for at least 20 years to clean all of my guns. Seems to work fine. I notice that there are many new products on the market and am wondering if there is something better.

I shoot about 100 shotgun rounds per week during warmer months.

·
Registered
3,995 Posts
Hoppe's #9 is pretty good for rifle and pistol bores, but Shooter's Choice Bore and Choke Cleaner seems to do a great job on shotgun bores. It's one of the few solvents that will remove plastic fouling, along with built up powder residue. Break Free in the aerosol can works good too, but not quite as well as Shooter's Choice. Kerosene or Mineral Spirits will do for trigger assemblies and other removable parts that don't have "hard" fouling. Nothing beats good old elbow grease, but these solvents makes it easier.

·
Registered
229 Posts
Here's a recipe for Ed's Red. Its cheap and works as well as any of the commercial products. Some people play around with the proportions. I prefer a little more Acetone and Mineral Spirits in my recipe.

25% Acetone

25% Mineral spirits

25% Automatic Transmission Oil

25% Kerosene

This takes out all powder and plastic fouling from a shotgun.
It will remove all grease from your firearm.
I usually use straight Acetone or Lacquer Thinner before I reapply any oil or grease.

There's always shooters choice. Good stuff too but damned expensive.

·
Registered
2,330 Posts
Ed's Red is good struff and it is inexpensive to make.

Also, I have tried Clenzoil with good results on all firearms. It's cost more then Ed's Red, but it's not toxic, won't damage wood, and smells decent.

Gene Batchelar
Wheaton, IL

·
Registered
613 Posts
Correction to my reply to this post: I use Hoppes #9 mostly for pistol bores and sometimes rifle.

The Shooter's Choice I use on my Perazzi bore--it does a good job removing the plastic fouling.

Allen

·