Trapshooters Forum banner

General Aviation and Trap Shooting ?

6849 Views 55 Replies 31 Participants Last post by  Ray Collins

General aviation for personal travel is done by a fairly small group of folks.

Trap shooting is done by a small group too, though trap shooting should be the national pastime.

How many trap shooters travel to trap tournaments in their own plane ?

Neal Knox used to travel to benchrest rifle competitions in his personal Beechcraft Bonanza.

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

· Registered
300 Posts
I've been flying my own aircraft since 1967. The convenience is significant. Simply toss your guns in the baggage compartment and go. Many gun clubs are located close to small airports, and the number of gun clubs that become available on weekends expands greatly. Instead of going to a nearby town to shoot, you can go to a nearby state instead. I used to fly to Vandalia for the Ohio State Shoot and the Grand American, and Sparta has a great airport that is on the outskirts of town that is just minutes from the site of the new Grand American. I remember one 4th of July weekend I flew to the Kentucky State Shoot for several days, and then flew over to the Virginia State Shoot to finish off the long weekend. I never could have done that in a car. I don't know if they still do this or not, but I used to fly over to Jaqua's and I would buzz the club before the shoot started and they would send a car to the airport to pick you up. The Airport Gun club in Lancaster,Ohio is walking distance from the airport. Trapshooting and flying have much in common. Both are challenging individual activities that seem to attract similar people.

· Registered
182 Posts
I fly a Saratoga from Kansas City to South Dakota for phesant hunting. 3 hr flight beats a 8 hr drive all the time! Used to fly to western KS when we had birds there. The decline of the bird population is why I started shooting trap and now I am addicted.

· Registered
8,994 Posts