Trapshooters Forum banner

First P/W Reloader - need hints/advice

4130 46
I picked up a BNIB P/W 800 Plus 20ga reloader at Auction, with some extras.
I’m new to P/W and need hints, tips, advice before I start assembly.... thanks in advance

Wood Interior design Floor Flooring Hardwood
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

· Registered
2,575 Posts
Congratulations 🎊🎉🎈🍾. I am still using mine with all the factory parts. So far no problem. But there’s aftermarket parts that say works well.
primer punch and feeding I used a file to take the sharp edge off so primer will not hang up.
After a while you might want to use the metal powder and shot plate with the clear tubes to see the shot and powder levels. Someday I will have the electric drive. I also have the powder adapter that uses Mec bushings. I have lots of Mec bushings

· Registered
2,532 Posts
Yes, congrats! I have an 800+ 12ga. Upgraded from MEC 9000 and there WAS a learning curve. If you are using steel based hulls, I would get a MEC supersizer and run the hulls through it. It makes the machine go so much smoother. I added a hull feeder and electric motor. There was some tweaking that I did and the machine finally is an ammo making machine. Good luck and enjoy.

· Registered
254 Posts
The PW 800 + does resize the hull base. Some believe, with steel bases, it works better if they are resized first. Many others have never had an issue with just resizing with the PW. I had a PW 900 for some time and never had an issue. I have a PW 800 + on order and am planning on running Gun Clubs through it without any resizing outside of the PW.

· Registered
697 Posts