Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
9,921 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello:
What is the fascination about shooting a trap target right out of the house? I've been trapshooting since 1970 and I have seen some very fast shooters shooting all three events with blazing speed.

What is interesting is that some of the best trapshooters of all time did not shoot what I would call, extremely fast. I have asked some of the all time greats over the years about shooting fast and a good number of these shooters wish they could actually slow down a bit as their misses sometime occur by shooting a target to fast.

What's ironic is that a good number of veteran trapshooters use full chokes. I would think it would be better to use your pattern on 16 yard targets and not shoot extremely fast. I have seen newer trapshooters try to emulate some of the fast shooting all Americans which usually results in poor scores.

I think newer shooters fail to understand that veteran trapshooters are not intentionally shooting fast as years of experience has increased their speed of breaking a target.

Any advantage of breaking targets at warp speed compared to using your pattern to break targets?
Steve Balistreri
Wauwatosa Wisconsin

·
Registered
11,024 Posts
Steve,
You can shoot targets at warp speed and still use a big pattern to break the target.
All you have to do is change the choke in your gun. In doubles I trap the first target
and hit it five yards out of the house. I use a skeet choke(.008) for that shot with 1 oz
of 9s. I bet that pattern is just as big as your full choke at 40 yards. HMB

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
Everyone has their own timing and tempo. A fast shooter really can't slow it down much without causing other problems. If you have good eyes and fast reflexes you'll be a quick shooter without even trying. The main thing is being smooth and consistent on every bird.

·
Banned
495 Posts