Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I haven't tested the two type wads on the pattern board.
Has anyone done so and seen an appreciable difference in patterns either on the pattern board or the clay target?
eg. Claybuster CB1118 versus Winchester WAA12 (Win. white 1 1/8 wads)

·
Registered
11,414 Posts
There won't be any difference in how they pattern.

Wads don't have much, if any, effect on patterns.

Reactions: RickN and llukesh

·
Registered
4,667 Posts
There won't be any difference in how they pattern.

Wads don't have much, if any, effect on patterns.
But according to most loading charts, there is a marked difference in pressure and velocity between various wads.

I'm no ballistic expert, but how can changing two other variables not affect the pattern in some way.

I know some have recommended not pushing velocities too fast, otherwise the pattern is blown.

Just askin', curious minds want to know.

·
Registered
4,667 Posts
How can that be true ?? If it were there would be one wad for everything correct ???
There once was, still have a few of them. Remember those two piece wads, a deep deep cup with a collapsible insert that just crushed to fit any shot charge. They have disappeared for some reason, maybe because they made wad selection too easy.:1augen71::1augen71::1augen71:

·
Premium Member
7,019 Posts
Guys, it's possible that a wad swap might effect your pattern, I do not believe so and I'm not the expert.
Why doesn't someone try it. Grab a bunch of paper, load the factory wad in shell A. only changing the wad.
Then load shells B. & C. with the matching clone wad, only difference will be the wad.
Shoot 5 of each at paper and compare. You will then know if swapping to clone wads has any effect on your pattern.
My guess is NO.
Just my .02
MG

·
Registered
11,414 Posts
If you don't believe me, that's fine. But I challenge you to test it yourselves.