Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have limited information and limited pictures....does anybody here know how to "date" a F. Williams sxs shotgun. It has hammers and I am sure it is damascus steel. I already know it was a gunmaker out of Birmingham England but have no idea how to "date" it. Apparently this is important because the fella wants to bring it into the USA from Canada and the date is a factor....I have no knowledge of these regulations, requirements or such. So I have read a little from Customs and Border Protection, along with ATF. The main question here is how to "date" this gun and prove year of manufacture.

·
Registered
2,284 Posts
I have limited information and limited pictures....does anybody here know how to "date" a F. Williams sxs shotgun. It has hammers and I am sure it is damascus steel. I already know it was a gunmaker out of Birmingham England but have no idea how to "date" it. Apparently this is important because the fella wants to bring it into the USA from Canada and the date is a factor....I have no knowledge of these regulations, requirements or such. So I have read a little from Customs and Border Protection, along with ATF. The main question here is how to "date" this gun and prove year of manufacture.
Can you provide details of what is engraved on the top rib near the breech? That might include a clue to the address of the maker in Birmingham. From a cursory investigation it seems there may have been more than one "F Williams" gun makers in Birmingham. Photos of the gun, its serial number and a photo of the proof markings on the flats of the barrels would be helpful. Proving the year of manufacture may well be impossible but an approximate range of dates might be.

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·