Trapshooters Forum banner

eye dominancy issue

4001 Views 40 Replies 21 Participants Last post by  firewagon
I have been shooting for a long time, I just started shooting trap serious about a year and a half ago. I have tired shooting two eyed and was really having a hard time. Today i decided to try it again. I shot a pretty bad score, which I expected to do. I was asking a buddy of mine to watch me and see if he could tell where I was shooting. He recommended talking to another guy that was there. He is a coach or one of the high schools and is not a bad shooter him self. I have done a eye dominancy test at home, but I didn't get much from it. He stepped back and told me to point at his finger, which was at his eye. Every time with both hands I was pointing at his nose. He was saying that my dominate eye was switching and I'm basically looking right down my nose and have central vision. He said if I was a sporting clays shooter I would great. So i put tape of my left sense of my glasses and then shot a round. Station 2 and 3 where all ink balls right out of the house, 1 and 4 where 2 misses each, but station 5 was zeros. This was for two rounds about the same score for each. On station 5 it didn't matter if it was a hard right or a straight away I have no idea where I was hitting. If I can shoot good on two stationed why can't I on all the stations. When I close one eye station five is not a problem. I really like the sight picture of shooting with two eyes and I'm looking for advice on what to do. I use tape of my left eye to blur the image and the helps so I don't see two back beads and two front beads. with one eye I'm about a 93 percent shooter if that matters. I don't know if I explained my problem well.
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

· Registered
172 Posts