Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Premium Member
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am right eye dominant and shoot right handed (I am also a right handed person). I have been shooting two eye since 2015 without issue but this morning while practicing my mount I closed both eyes and mounted, when I opened both eyes I was looking through the left eye and saw only the left side of the gun. It freaked my out. I remounted with both eyes open and can see mainly with the right eye (straight down the rib) but about 10% of my vision is on the left side of the gun, it is not peripheral I see a sharp image of part of the left side while I am seeing down the rib with my right eye.

I did a few eye dominance test and still right eye dominant but when I mount about 10% is that left side. I tested a few times closing both eye and mount and when I open my eyes I see all left.

I have a Terry Jordan wall chart and when I mount with both eyes I see mostly down the rib with the right eye but as I move to the target I am distracted by that 10% view from the left eye. Has this happened to anyone else? Anything I can do? Or am I back to shooting one eyed?

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Use a "Magic Dot", piece of scotch tape, or anything to cover the vision of the left eye. I shoot with 2 eyes open but have a dot on my left lens. There are many threads on "dot placement" here and through the people who sell shooting glasses and dots like L&M

·
Registered
1,484 Posts