Trapshooters Forum banner

Extended chokes

2950 23
I am a relative newbie to the sport, but I am curious as to why some shooters use an extended choke. What are their advantages/disadvantages?
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

· Registered
13,498 Posts
I'll add the extra length can give your barrel some added bling!!! Gold bands or other colored rings add a nice look. Or even a nice shiny chrome choke on the end of a blued barrel if you prefer. The only other real advantage IMO, is its easier to read the choke you have installed at any time without having to remove the choke, or remember what the notch pattern is for the shotgun your shooting that day. Everyone always forgets the notch pattern IMO. To a skeet or trap shooter, this may not be a huge benefit. But for a sporting clay shooters. Who may want/need to change chokes several times per event? Its a real nice benefit!!!

PS I also agree with the poster above. They do help protect the end of barrel as well. break em all jeff

· Premium Member
1,268 Posts
If you rest your barrel on a leather or rubber pad between shots, it just makes sense to use extended chokes. It will protect your shotgun barrel. Just make sure to get steel extended chokes if your pad has a magnet. Titanium or aluminum chokes aren't magnetic.

· Registered
251 Posts
Some pros and cons of extended choke tubes include:

1) extended tubes are usually easier/faster to change (usually no wrench needed),

2) most extended tubes have the choke/constriction printed on the exposed portion (visible when installed) while some flush tubes don’t have notches to indicate choke constrictions when installed,

3) extended tubes provide muzzle protection from possible muzzle damage (dint) that could make choke removal or instillation difficult,