Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
551 Posts
I have used ProEars for about 12 years now. They have a low profile cup for easy mounting and can allow you to hear everything while the shooting is going on. They don’t cut out the sound. They reduce the loud sound while still allowing the normal level sound to continue. You could have a normal level conversation and hear every word while a whole bunch of people are shooting. It’s nice. And you’re not yelling.

·
Registered
850 Posts
I have been using Peltor for 20 years plus and I have two different sets the deep and heavier ones I use in winter for trap and a lighter pair that I use for skeet and sporting. Always buy good equipment or the very best you can afford when it comes to your hearing and eye protection. You only get one chance as there are no replacement parts for your ears or eyesight.
Devonian.

·
Registered
34,277 Posts
What was the name of the ear bud type that came in a recharging case? Someone posted about these a few months ago.

There are several offerings.E.A.R. offers some with different options, all the way up to $2,400.00. Check past threads below for past discussions and brands mentioned. Keep in mind, earbuds do not protect the area right behind the ear, there is a large honey area which sound and concussion is transmitted through that bone to the ear. I have used ear plugs and Peltor muffs for 20 years and still have hearing loss. There is some thought that the recoil of the shotgun travels through the stock and delivers damaging concussion to the ear. This has been covered in a thread started by Drew House, about concussion effect caused by shotguns.

·
Registered
1,135 Posts
I’m using a set of Caldwell Emax right now. Were only $40 but they cut the gunfire and allow me to still hear conversation.