Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone here have an Ed Brown custom 1911? I would like to own one but given the price I’m curious if theY are worth the money. All thoughts would be appreciated. As a reference the one I specked out was just over $3700 in 45 ACP.

·
Registered
260 Posts
I have an Ed Brown in .38 Super. It is a tack driver. I claim no great skill with a pistol but I do get a lot of satisfaction both owning and shooting if. I’d recommend looking on the used market as they may be more price friendly there.
V/r
Maxey

·
Registered
616 Posts
I don’t own an Ed Brown, but they have a very good reputation. I have a Wilson Combat and a couple Les Baer 1911s. I think Les is the best value in the semi-custom 1911 world. Might not be as pretty, but damn do they shoot.

You should also check out Alchemy Custom Weaponry. The owner started at the Springfield Armory custom shop, then learned from and built for Les Baer before going out on his own.

Good luck!

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I’ve considered a Les Baer as well but have a friend that has an Ed Brown and thinks very highly of it. It is also the only one I’ve seen and only opinion I’ve heard. I’ve not had a chance to actually shoot it though. Hence my question.

·
Registered
51 Posts
I have a night hawk custom Talon 1911 45. They are in the same league as an Ed Brown. There are a lot of guns that will poke holes in paper. However, if you like finely tuned fire arms you will not go wrong with an Ed Brown. I have shot one and it was definitely a finely tuned firearm.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
596 Posts
I've shot a Brown - very very nice.

The Brown's, Wilson's, Nighthawks, Guncrafter Industries, Baer's all fall into the "semi custom" category and are all very good.

I own a Guncrafter No Name and a Les Baer UTC and for the $ the Baer is tough to beat.