Trapshooters Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How has everyone's experience with Down Range Blue DRXL 1/1/8 and DRXXL Pink 7/8 oz wads been okay? I am considering changing from the Winchester 1 1/8 and 7/8 oz wads to these due to the large price difference?

·
Registered
810 Posts
While I have no experience with the 1 1/8 oz Down Range wads, I do use the DRXXL 7/8 oz wads. I have loaded/fired thousands of shells with these wads and am completely satisfied with their performance. I tried the Winchester wads and Remington wads for 7/8 oz loads and did not like either of these. The Down Range wads load easily on my MEC 9000E (Automate) loader and pattern beautifully in my Beretta 687 unsingle at 16 yard targets. I think you will find them a great wad subsitute. Just use the Winchester WAA12SL load data for 7/8 oz loads.

·
Premium Member
2,145 Posts
I have shot thousands of Down Range wads of several types - in 1 1/8 ounce - 1 ounce and 7/8 ounce - have been very pleased with the products.....and I have found they are great people to talk to as well.....

·
Registered
291 Posts
I just bought another 5000 XL1 and XL118 wads last week. I shot loaded over 5000 last year including 1000 XXL 7/8's and found they pattern well and leave much less plastic residue in the barrel/chokes than nearly any of the others, clone or OEM. You will be satisfied at the least and probably very impressed.

The neon green looks pretty impressive scream across a dark background under the lights at night too.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Both are excellent wads. If you're using the 1 1/8s for handicap, you also might want to try their Versalite wads. Those things are great.

Jim

·
Registered
239 Posts
I've shot several cases of the XL-1 with great results. The only problem I've had is trying to find another case when I need one. There is NO one pandling them in S.E.Minnesota area. Dale

·
Registered
2,493 Posts