Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im fairly new to doubles. While im on the verge of possibly installing the release trigger for my sbt and making the switch It makes me wonder what doubles shooters use if they are already a release for singles and caps.

·
Registered
769 Posts
double release for doubles, if you go release pull you will eventually flinch and pick your head up on the second shot of a 100 doubles event and it will cause a miss then and further down the line as you think about it. saying from experience.

·
Registered
179 Posts
Skip the release/pull step, invariably you will end up at a double release anyway. You will likely be surprised at how quickly you adapt to the double release. Furthermore, with the double release embraced your ability to carry over to Sporting Clays and Skeet will be very natural. IMHO.

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
If your getting a release for your SBT, what makes you think you can shoot the second target in doubles with a pull?
Get a double release.

·
Premium Member
297 Posts
I used R/P for a long time. Last year I bought a new gun that mistakenly arrived with a R/R. I decided to try it for a while.

Now I think I like it better than R/P.............

Whatever works for you............

·
Registered
Remington 1100
173 Posts
I used R/P for a long time. Last year I bought a new gun that mistakenly arrived with a R/R. I decided to try it for a while.

Now I think I like it better than R/P.............

Whatever works for you............
Release/pull works for shooters who shoot a pull trigger for singles and handicap, especially if they are very fast shooters. The first shot is almost a snap shot and the second shot is more focused. Steve Carmichael shoots a release/pull.

·
Registered
2,430 Posts