Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
5,582 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's good to shoot with a great squad of seasoned shooters that you know. However, it has distracted me in the past. I pay attention to targets missed by friends, as I feel their pain with them. Going it alone helps me stay focused but have experienced some horrible squads over the years, like most of us have. What works for you?

·
Registered
232 Posts
I am still somewhat new to shooting ATA but this past summer I noticed that I tend to shoot better with strangers as oppose to friends. I found myself being concerned about friends missing targets instead of concentrating on what I am suppose to. I have recently learned to ignore anyone's misses and concentrate on getting in the zone and routine.

·
Premium Member
1,811 Posts
Shot my best scores with no one I knew on the squad. More self focus I guess. It fun to shoot with friends though. Many many times I've caught myself thinking of a squad mates scores when the wheels are falling off for them.

·
Administrator
8,655 Posts
I find it can be good with either way.Being comfortable in a squad with shooters you know is a good thing but like mentioned in prior posts you can easily get involved in other shooters misses or other issues. I have been fortunate that I have chosen to not pre-squad and have ended up making some new friends and have some great experiences.

·
Registered
10,041 Posts
Yes, I like to shoot with people I know. Reason, I do not want any surprises on the line including safety issues. With that being said, when shooting a tournament I would rather not shoot with relatives as I seem to be more concerned with watching their targets than my own.
Steve Balistreri
Wauwatosa Wisconsin

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
If I shoot with friend that are good shooters, I shoot well, if I shoot with friends that are average shooters my scores go down a little.