Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
I currently use Vi-Lite Rose 1 for most of my shooting. I also have Gold 10's for night shooting and grouse hunting. My first lenses were Light Medium Target Orange, they were left at a club and disappeared. These frames were fitted for me by Bud Decot at the 1995 Grand in his trailer. My son with younger eyes uses Vi-Lite Rose 0's.

·
Registered
8,384 Posts
I would normally suggest you attend a large shoot where you could try different lenses to see what works for YOU.
Not everyone sees the same colors through a particular color lens.
That being said with all that is going on right now I too would recommend the target orange as a starter, good luck.

·
Registered
906 Posts
I’ve been using the V-Lite 2 for the last seven years. It works well for me in most light conditions. I tried the Color Mag but the target would just disappear if it got in the clouds.

·
Registered
1,227 Posts
Go with vlite 1 until there is a big shoot u can you can attend and try all tints/transmission until you find what you want. You probably will wind up with at least 3 lenses for all the conditions you encounter (usual, very bright day and clear background, overcast/night/late shootoff!!)

K

·
Registered
642 Posts
Bud was a champion salesman,

Every year from 96 through to 2004 I was able to attend the Grand at Vandalia and always visited Bud on day one.
Bud used to tell me with a big smile on his face that every time he needed a new Car he invented another color Lens.
As usual he used to get me to purchase his latest "color", his sales pitch was always "Aussie have I got a new color for you" he would get me every time.
By the time I changed to Pilla's two years ago I had 3 sets of Decot frames with 14 different lenses, I donated them to 3 Junior shooters at our club.
One has gone onto AA Class and will not give his Decots up for any amount of money.