Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Banned
10,357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When my wife and I started shooting ATA targets ( circa 1973) Daily fees were less than a buck and targets were 5 bucks a hundred (lowest) to 6 bucks a hundred (highest). ----Today we shoot mainly in two states. One has daily fees" including ATA and state" of $5.00 and one "including ATA and state" is $7.00 . Targets (not counting large shoot ie. state, zone etc.) run $20.00 per hundred (lowest) to $30.00 per hundred highest). What is included varies. The two cheapest clubs provide a free lunch and give a couple boxes of shells to winners each event. The highest puts 1.50 back into high gun each class. We shoot in the South East. I know inflation has taken a toll on the shooting sports and no sport is "Cheap" anymore. It is what it is and As my kid brother always says "That's just life in the Big City" ! Clubs are struggling to make it as it is. Just wondering how this compares to what some of the rest of some of you are paying for targets/ fees. :088:

·
Registered
2,469 Posts
Well, let's see........

In 1972 you could buy a loaded Ford Galaxie LTD or Impala for $4,000. Today, you can buy a top of the line Ford or Chevy for $40,000. Gas was $0.30. Today is it $3.00. Typical non-skilled wage was $1.50 per hour. Today, it is $15.00 per hour.

However, in 1972 lead shot was $9.00/25#. Today it is NOT $90; it is $38. You did the math on the cost of targets. Seems to me like shooting is a bargain today......

I love this quote (author unknown): "The reason a dollar won't buy as much as it used to, is because people will not do as much as they used to do to earn a dollar".

M.D.

·
Registered
7,947 Posts
According to U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, $5 in 1973 is approx. $27 today.

·
Registered
7,947 Posts
There're too many things doesn't went along with inflation rate. (based on $5 in '73 is about $27 in 2015)

Non-collectable items:

Bread was $0.25 in '70s, and $3 in 2015.