Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a new shooter I would like to attend a clinic this season hosted by what seems to be the main three . NR, PK, HC .I would like to receive instruction before I create more bad habits than I already have. I shoot one eyed currently to achieve my best scores , with less than a year in the sport I would like to hear various comments from those have already taken advantage of such programs as to what direction to move as a novice. I realize all of the above are top notch and all would be great choices but as instructors differ one may be better suited for entry level.

Joe

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
If any of my Grandchildren have a serious interest in shooting trap, I will pay for them to take Nora's clinic. Bill Malcolm

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Bill I am leaning in that direction but a qualifier I am new to the sport but also have a grandchild

Joe

·
Registered
613 Posts
I have taken clinics from 5 different pro.s. I wish I would have taken clinics in my first years of shooting, before getting set in my style. I got something out of each clinic. Every one of the clinics helped one of the games some. Depending on whom you select, they may train you to shoot like them, others will have you work on improving your own style. Nora is the only one that is a one eyed shooter, and probably the only AAA/AAA/27 doing so. I shot about 6 or 7 years one eyed until I switched to having both eyes open, you see the bird better and quicker. If you go that direction, expect a dip in scores until you start to improve. Take a clinic, then shoot as much is possible to engrain what you have learned. While costly, you will learn more for your money than twice the same $$$ shooting practice.

·
Registered
534 Posts