Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok im new to shotguns and just picked upna Beretta 682 gold e trap combo. Im looking for suggestions on what i should have for cleaning tools/supplies. Also where are the key places to keep greased or oiled?

Thanks

·
Registered
454 Posts
If it turns or rotates "grease it" if it slides "oil it. A good stiff cleaning rod with brush , patches a set of small brass brushes, rem oil wipes, hoppes cleaner, tetra gun lube grease, gun oil. That is what I use. OH and some cans of compressed air to blow out the little particles around the ejectors and in the receiver area following a cleaning.

·
Registered
1,723 Posts
Check out the K video that was just posted. It does a pretty good job of answering your questions. Welcome and nice gun, by the way!
John

·
Registered
455 Posts
If your new shotgun came with an operator manual - read it and know it. It will explain cleaning points and, perhaps, suggest the use of oils and grease for certain areas.

As far as tools, I like a nice gun rest to cradle the gun with the action open. Additionally, I buy thousands of patches for cleaning (bulk from fleabay). I shoot a fair amount in both shotguns and handguns so I always like to have plenty on hand. Always have a good gun oil and grease on hand. I also buy pipe cleaning rods to clean porting. Since I have fat fingers, I also use a plastic pick set to clean hard to reach areas. YMMV.

Cheers, Jet

·
Registered
8,253 Posts
Always remove old grease and oil and replace with new lube every day you use the gun.

·
Registered
110 Posts
I like Hoppes #9 for cleaning, Breakfree CLP for lubrication, and then use compressed air to blow out the action. A small amount of oil will remain where parts touch and the excess is gone. As was stated earlier, a good grease on rotating parts with oil for sliding surfaces is best.

Who doesn't like the smell of Hoppes #9?

·
Registered
2,687 Posts